World Seniors Snooker Championship: Information and a Potted History

Credit: Andy Chubb/World Seniors Snooker TourCredit: Andy Chubb/World Seniors Snooker Tour
Credit: Andy Chubb/World Seniors Snooker Tour | ANDY CHUBB
The World Seniors Snooker Championship is the premier event on the World Seniors Snooker Tour.

Throughout its history, the tournament has used several different formats, rules and eligibility criteria, but in recent years has enjoyed more uniformity and a home at snooker’s most iconic venue, the Crucible Theatre in Sheffield.  

Amateur players can also make it to the final stages via several international qualification pathways. 

The Championship can provide a route to the Champion of Champions professional invitational event. Jimmy White, David Lilley and Lee Walker have all featured in that having been reigning world seniors champions. 

World Seniors Snooker Championship: Most successful players, stats, stories, best finals 

Four-time World Seniors Snooker Championship winner Jimmy White is comfortably the most successful player in the tournament's history. 

From the 15 editions completed to date, White is the only player to have claimed the title more than once. He has also successfully defended the crown. 

The first World Seniors Snooker Championship took place in 1991 at Trentham Gardens in Stoke, England and was organised by Matchroom. Cliff Wilson secured the inaugural title following a 5-4 victory against Eddie Charlton in the final. 

However, it wasn't until 2010 that the tournament was held again, where White registered the first of his seniors accolades after defeating Steve Davis 4-1 in the final at the Cedar Court Hotel in Bradford, England. 

Between 2011 to 2016, Sky Sports live televised the event, changing it to a shorter format and with shot clock stipulations. Darren Morgan - who was an amateur at the time - defeated Davis 2-1 in the 2011 final. 

Nigel Bond didn't drop a single frame - winning seven consecutive matches 2-0 - as he triumphed in 2012, while Davis finally got his hands on the trophy in 2013 when he ended Bond's reign in the title match. 

Mark Williams compiled a 140 break in the opening round of the 2015 installment before going on to handle the silverware; Mark Davis in 2016 had to navigate eight rounds to get his name on the roll of honour. 

Snooker Legends organised the Championship in 2017 and 2018, with the tournament only open to players without a professional tour card. Peter Lines and Aaron Canavan were the respective winners. 

Since 2019, the event has run under the auspices of the World Seniors Snooker Tour and been held every year at the Crucible. 

White holds a very impressive record of reaching the final every time since its move to Sheffield. Having suffered so much heartbreak at that venue in the professional version, the popular cueist denied Morgan in the 2019 final, and conjured up a remarkable comeback in the 2020 showpiece when he recovered from 4-0 down to defeat Ken Doherty, 5-4. 

David Lilley and Lee Walker (who turned a 4-2 deficit into a 5-4 victory) defeated White in the 2021 and 2022 finals, although White claimed his fourth crown in 2023 when he defeated fellow Londoner Alfie Burden in the final.

Credit: Andy Chubb/World Seniors Snooker TourCredit: Andy Chubb/World Seniors Snooker Tour
Credit: Andy Chubb/World Seniors Snooker Tour | Andy Chubb/World Seniors Snooker Tour

World Seniors Snooker Championship: Roll of Honour, Finals Results, Locations 

1991: Cliff Wilson 5-4 Eddie Charlton (Stoke-on-Trent, England)

2010: Jimmy White 4-1 Steve Davis (Bradford)

2011: Darren Morgan 2-1 Steve Davis (Peterborough)

2012: Nigel Bond 2-0 Tony Chappel (Portsmouth)

2013: Steve Davis 2-1 Nigel Bond (Portsmouth)

2015: Mark Williams 2-1 Fergal O'Brien (Blackpool)

2016: Mark Davis 2-1 Darren Morgan (Preston)

2017: Peter Lines 4-0 John Parrott (Scunthorpe)

2018: Aaron Canavan 4-3 Patrick Wallace (Scunthorpe)

2019: Jimmy White 5-3 Darren Morgan (Sheffield)

2020: Jimmy White 5-4 Ken Doherty (Sheffield)

2021: David Lilley 5-3 Jimmy White (Sheffield)

2022: Lee Walker 5-4 Jimmy White (Sheffield)

2023: Jimmy White 5-3 Alfie Burden (Sheffield)

2024: Igor Figueiredo 5-2 Ken Doherty (Sheffield)

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.